Call Now

Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University

Updated on: Mar 21, 2013

The Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University (YCMOU) came into existence by a special law of the state legislature on 1st July 1989. Situated in Nasik, it has the jurisdiction over the entire Maharashtra. YCMOU performs its functions by 8 regional centers situated in cities like Amaravati, Aurangabad, Kolhapur, Mumbai, Nagpur, Nanded, Nasik and Pune. Every regional centre has study centres and work centres in its authority. These centres assemble contact and counseling sessions at normal intervals. . It has nearly 1400 study centers through out the state. This university is the 5th Open University of India.

About 200 diverse courses are given in this institute in three languages i.e. English, Hindi and Marathi. There are 4 lacs students and each year of 1 lacs student enroll for taking up higher studies. The top administrative official of the University is the Vice Chancellor.

The goal of the university is to emerge as a 'Mass Varsity'. The programmes are thus thought and designed accordingly. Most of its courses are delivered in Marathi, the regional language. Additionally, the courses put a major importance on vocational or technical and research level courses. Unlike traditional system of teachings the Open University follows an innovative way through supporting print material with audio visual additions and so making the point more effective while it reaches the deprived sections of the community.

Contact Details:

Address :
Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University
Dnyangangotri, Near Gangapur Dam,
Nashik-4222 222, MS, India
Phone : +91-253-2231714, 2231715

E-mail : [email protected]

Fax : +91-253-2230270, 2241716 

Subscribe to our newsletter